Read all about it! First-year writing assignment leads to jobs

I probably should have posted this press release earlier.

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.03.14 AMThe college where I work, St. Lawrence College, here in Kingston, Ontario, Canada, has issued a news release to local media that aims to spread the word about the successes of my communication course’s killer blogging assignment.

You can view a version of the news release here. It describes how students who complete my multi-week blogging assignment are using their blogs to get jobs—as early as first year.

I also delivered a professional development workshop to faculty on Monday in which I showed them how they, too, can create a blogging assignment for their students. About 20 teachers showed up, many of whom were already planning to run their own blogging assignments before attending and were looking for ideas. You can view the slides from the workshop on slideshare.net.

I look forward to learning how theirs go. Hopefully, they learned from my mistakes. The graphic design program, for example, plans to assign students to blog throughout their three years in that program as we do in our Advertising Marketing Communications program.

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.02.25 AMAnyhow, my workshop, which featured a presentation by superb blogging first-year student Jason Manuge, was well received. Indeed, the folks at professional development want me to run a more in-depth version (three hours instead of one) in the spring. I’m thrilled at the prospect.

Meanwhile, I’m still waiting for the media to pick up my news release and run with it. I’m not used to my media releases not getting published. Admittedly, it would probably be of more interest to magazines. So maybe I should make a few follow-up calls.

If something does happen, you can be sure that you will be among the first to know.

About teachingteacher

Business communications instructor, journalist, corporate communications writer and media trainer ... and Masters Candidate M.Ad.Ed.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Read all about it! First-year writing assignment leads to jobs

  1. Jason Manuge says:

    The blogging assignment was great! I’m really interested to see if anyone who attended the workshop injects a similar project into their own teaching regimen. It would be neat, as a student, to see blogging used as a teaching tool outside of a communications course.

Please leave a reply and spark discussion

