Kristian Prosser writes about the challenges of marketing to Generation X.

kristianprosser

 

Image

This week our class had to hand in a marketing strategy for a specific generation.  The generation I chose to market towards was generation X, which are 32-46 year olds.  Doing the assignment taught me a lot about generations, how they think, perceive information, their critical thinking steps that go into purchasing a product.

What I found interesting is that for this market it said not to use tradition.  Not to relate anything to their parents or guardian figures using the product in past years.  I found this very strange.  That you should tap into the thought of “well if my parents used it then I should use it.”  That to me seems like the easiest way to sell something to someone because they are already familiar with how to use the product and the outcome it will have. 

This reminded me of a documentary we watched in my…

View original post 101 more words

About teachingteacher

Business communications instructor, journalist, corporate communications writer and media trainer ... and Masters Candidate M.Ad.Ed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply and spark discussion

