Setting a bad example

What can I say to defend myself? I skipped my last two Instructional Delivery classes.

I could make up all the excuses in the world: I was tired, I was overwhelmed, I had a headache, my dog ate my enthusiasm. Indeed, I was tired and I was overwhelmed with other work and, last week, I even had a headache.

Nonetheless, I missed six hours of classes, something that would cause me to frown on my own students for doing.

I could hide in shame and maybe even delete this entry, so my teacher wouldn’t know what I’ve done. But perhaps I can turn this missed learning experience into an opportunity to learn something I wouldn’t have learned if I had gone to class.

Perhaps this experience helps me to understand my own students a little better. Perhaps they are just as overwhelmed as I am.

To be honest (as opposed to being dishonest–sheesh, I hate that expression), I skipped my last two night classes because I could, and something had to give. I have a thriving freelance writing business alongside my nearly full-time teaching position and sometimes the work can get overwhelming. As a rule, I don’t take weekends off during the school year and often work 60 to 80 hours a week. The last two weeks have been even more frantic.

Something had to give.

In my life, my current priorities are ranked in this order:
1. me
2. my wife Julie
3. my extended family (and closest friends)
4. my students
5. my freelance business
6. my continuing education

So I was tired and I needed a break and something had to give.

While I hope I didn’t let down any of my classmates with my absence, I don’t feel guilty about my absence. In fact, I feel pretty good. That’s because I think I’ve gained new insight into why I sometimes lose my students to a class or two.

See you next class.

About teachingteacher

Business communications instructor, journalist, corporate communications writer and media trainer ... and Masters Candidate M.Ad.Ed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Setting a bad example

  1. Christina Decarie says:

    Whenever one of my students misses a class or an assignment, I ask what happened. The only correct answer, in my opinion, is “I just had too much on my plate and something had to give. I made a choice and I’ll live with the consequences.”

    We can’t do everything all the time! Not us, not our students. Make choices and roll with the consequences. It makes us human and that makes us better teachers.

Please leave a reply and spark discussion

