Jagged Jigsaw

Only a poor journalist fails to follow a story through to its end, so I’m providing a short report on how my first attempt at Jigsaw worked on Thursday with my advertising class.

I used it to teaching a lesson on figurative language. While I made it clear to students that it was my first attempt at this learning activity and they were patient while I fumbled through its logistics, the class received mixed reviews. Some students loved doing all the learning and teaching themselves while others thought we spent too much time on the lesson.

I think I’ll try Jigsaw again even though I wasn’t happy with the lesson. I was teaching metaphor, simile, analogy, and idiom usage when I think most students already have some grasp on the basics. This would be a better lesson if I concentrated on taking things to the next level by showing students how to develop advertising concepts using metaphors and similes. That’ll be a challenge because I’ll have to figure out how to do that myself.

Regardless, that’s what I’m going to do next. Will I use Jigsaw to teach my next figurative language lesson? Probably not, but I will certainly keep it in my tool belt for another day.

Thanks, Elizabeth.

About teachingteacher

Business communications instructor, journalist, corporate communications writer and media trainer ... and Masters Candidate M.Ad.Ed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply and spark discussion

